Update: Board of Directors

At Brain Tumour Walk events, volunteers are instantly visible in their bright orange tshirts and bright green tshirts for the organizing committee. We could not run events like Brain Tumour Walk without the help of our volunteers. Similarly, there are other aspects of our organization that cannot run without key volunteers, including the Board of Directors.

Last week we held our Annual General Meeting, which was an opportunity to thank five members of the Board of Directors who were retiring from the board for their years of service, and to welcome new members to the Board of Directors.

Marjory, Sean & Sarah




One of the members who retired from the Board of Directors was the Chair, Sean Taggart. Sean is the spouse of a survivor and became Chair in June 2013. Other members who we would also like to thank for their service include: Jeane King who was Corporate Secretary, Marjory Buttrum, Chair of Governance and Information, Support & Education Committees, Sarah Keels, Chair of the Finance Committee, and Alykhan Mamdani who was instrumental in setting up the Nazira Mamdani Brain Tumour Research Fellowship.

With Sean’s retirement, Rosemary Cashman has become Chair of the Board of Directors, Chris Sullivan becomes Vice-Chair, Phyllis Retty, Chair of the Finance Committee, and Lynn McRae is now Corporate Secretary. You can read about all the current Board of Directors here.

Sean, previous Chair is thanked by Rosie, the incoming Chair of the Board of Directors

We are grateful to everyone who volunteers! No matter whether the contribution is large or small, we cannot do what we do without your help. Thank you all.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.